Crepes in Arequipa

2 04 2010

I got up even later the next day and hung around the hostel for a bit before heading out for crepes with Jess, Alex, Andreas (Swedish), Chris (one of the bar tenders), Stefanie (a local Peruvian girl) and someone else (can’t remember who). The food was absolutely awesome at Crepísmo, a local French restaurant. I had a chicken curry crepe which was really tasty but it was so rich and creamy that by the time I’d finished it I couldn’t face any more food.

Apparently I’d been snoring quite badly the previous night (no doubt in some part due to the rum) and Erin had shouted out “Shut the fuck up, Barry” in the middle of the night. This approach had apparently worked and caused someone else in the dorm to start clapping.

Once back at the hostel I booked a 2-day trekking trip to the Colca Canyon starting the next day. Apparently quite a few people from the hostel were also doing the same – Jess and Erin I already knew but also Emma, Allie,  Sarah (all English), Fee (Australian), Dominic and Ceire (both Irish) were joining the trip.

I packed my bag ready for the next day and headed off to the bar. Because it was Ladies Night (free drinks for the girls for one hour) and Happy Hour for guys all night I got a bit carried away with drinking. This was further exacerbated when I went over to join some people for a game of cards – only to discover that they were playing the Circle of Death drinking game.

Due to the drink promotions practically everyone in the bar was drinking cocktails and Chris and Alex (who’d just started behind the bar that day) couldn’t even come close to keeping up. This made it very difficult whenever anyone picked a waterfall card because there was always someone at the table who was still waiting for a drink.

Eventually it got so late that there was absolutely no point me going to bed for the 3am start so I just stayed up. At 2:45 I went up to the dorm (bottle of beer still in hand) to get my bags and check out. It is somewhat of an understatement to say that was ill-prepared for 8 hours hiking the next day but I was the topic of much discussion back in the bar.